Jefferson Awards

Salesianum School was recognized as the lead school in Delaware for 2008 for implementing and coordinating the Jefferson Awards in our school. In both 2009 and 2010, Salesianum School was named the Regional winner for the state of Delaware as well as the National Winner at the ceremony in Washington, DC.


In addition, the Jefferson Awards Team was recognized as the National Winner for the Video Competition for the video the students submitted based on our travels to Washington for the National Competition in June and the impact that the Jefferson Awards has had on our school to date.


The Jefferson Awards are a prestigious national recognition system honoring community and public service in America. The Jefferson Awards are presented on two levels: national and local. They began in 1972 to create a Nobel Prize for public service. Today, their primary purpose is to serve as a "Call to Action for Volunteers" in local communities.


  Jefferson Awards Team with Senator Tom Carper- DE. at the Jefferson Awards National Ceremony in Washington DC.

An exciting opportunity to be recognized for your service to your community is the Jefferson Awards for Public Service. This award is presented throughout the Academic Year and to be eligible you must complete an application and be selected by our Team. One student per month will have their application submitted to the News Journal for recognition of their service. You must complete an application and each month's winner will be announced in the News Journal. Applications are available now.


The complete school team is listed below:

  • Senior Team Leaders: Christopher Ballintyn, John Claudy, Matthew Claudy, Dan Delaney, Dante DiSimplico, Stephen Gilcrest, Sean McGrory, Connor Norat, John Ryan, DJ Sutera
  • Junior Team Leaders: Trevor Bacal, Luke Bader, Tyler Bryan, Brendon Delaney, Justin Gregg, PJ Meyer, Alex Onesi, Nick Paoli, Brandon Tuozzolo, Thomas Zabielski
  • Sophomore Team Leaders: Matthew Bisson, Shawn Caton, Coby Owens, Tommy Renneisen, Lakshman Somasundurum, Tom Webster
  • Freshman Team Leaders: Philip Claudy, Julian DiSimplico, Ryan Liszkiewicz, Dan McFadden, Sam Watson
  • Nominating and Selection Team: Dante DiSimplico; Matt Claudy; John Claudy
  • Faculty Moderator: Mrs. Ballintyn
  • Principal: Father J. Chris Beretta, OSFS
  • Campus Minister: Father Patrick Kifolo


To learn more about the Jefferson Awards, please visit the following link

Our recipients thus far are:

  • Chris Ballintyn- Senior
  • Tyler Bryan- Junior
  • Colin Colbourne- Junior
  • James Fariello- Sophomore
  • Sean Kealey- Senior
  • Michael Natrin- Junior
  • Alexander Onesi- Junior
  • Brendan Picciotti- Junior
  • David Reino- Junior
  • Ben Schrieber- Junior
  • Joe Williams- Sophomore


Scholarship Opportunity

The William McCandless, OSFS Service Scholarship is also available to college bound Seniors. Click here for more information.