Science

The advances in science during the course of the twentieth century are unparalleled in the history of our planet. Physics gave us major breakthroughs in nuclear research, chemistry new polymers and composites, biology the discovery and development of DNA technology. It has become more and more obvious that all of us, not just the scientists, must become scientifically literate in the language of this science that is becoming more important to all dimensions of our lives.

 

As an educational institution, Salesianum sees its role to prepare students by providing them with the training that will make them able to fulfill their vocations as responsible citizens able to make informed decisions about science in their lives. With that in mind, a comprehensive Science curriculum has been developed that will challenge students at their ability levels and provide them with the most current scientific theory. Students have the opportunity to enroll as Freshmen in either Biology or Integrated Science, then follow the traditional Chemistry and Physics sequence. Although three years of Science is required, nearly all students take a minimum of four years, with many completing five or six years during their tenure here. In addition to Advanced Placement Biology, A.P. Chemistry, A.P. Environmental Science and three distinct A.P. Physics courses, students may enroll in Anatomy and Physiology, Biotechnology, Ecology, or Independent Research.

 

Faculty

Mr. David Szaroleta - View Homepage - Department Chair
dszarole@salesianum.org / ext. 211

 

Mr. C. Creighton Anderson

canderson@salesianum.org / ext. 280

 

Ms. Jennifer Albanese - View Homepage

jalbanes@salesianum.org / ext. 225

 

Mrs. MaryBeth Bray - View Homepage
mbray@salesianum.org / ext. 226

 

Ms. Kathryn Devine

kdevine@salesianum.org / ext. 278

 

Mr. David Stevens
dstevens@salesianum.org / ext. 210

 

Mrs. Patricia White - View Homepage
pwhite@salesianum.org / ext. 232

 

Ms. Alexis Walsh

awalsh@salesianum.org / ext. 240

 

Mr. Sam White
swhite@salesianum.org / ext. 271

Academics