Lincoln Lamberton '11 wins Gatorade Player of the Year

Lincoln Lamberton '11Salesianum baseball player Lincoln Lamberton '11 was named the Gatorade Delaware Baseball Player of the Year for 2011. Lamberton is the first Gatorade Delaware Baseball Player of the Year to be chosen from Salesianum School. He is from Newark, DE and is the son of Todd and Jill Lamberton.


According to Gatorade, the award recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field and distinguishes Lincoln as Delaware's best high school baseball player. He is now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Baseball Player of the Year award, to be announced later this month.


The 6-foot, 180-pound senior second baseman batted .549 with three home runs and 18 RBIs, leading Salesianum to a 16-4 record and the state semifinals. A 2010 First Team All-Non-Conference selection, he also posted a 1.467 OPS and stole five bases in five attempts.


"Lincoln is always striving for excellence in all that he does," said Salesianum School head coach Ted Godfrey '93. "His character, attitude and work ethic are off the charts."


Lincoln has maintained a 4.17 GPA in the classroom. A member of the National Honor Society and a U.S. Presidential Scholar award-winner, he has volunteered locally on behalf of the Special Olympics and is a member of Salesianum's Student Council and Campus Ministry team.


Earlier this school year, Lincoln was also awarded the prestigious Morehead-Cain Scholarship to the University of North Carolina. This scholarship is awarded to the top four percent of the applicants from across the country. Recipients are chosen after a rigorous application and interview process. Those who earn the scholarship receive free tuition, room, board, as well as a living stipend to cover the cost of books and other incidentals. The scholarship program also offers leadership and enrichment programs. He is the only student in the country this year to be named both a U.S. Presidential Scholar and Morehead-Cain Scholarship Recipient.