State Championships: 2013/14 & 2014/2015

The basketball program began with the junior class of 1912-13 under the direction of Fr. Francis Mahoney, OSFS.Salesianum basketball teams competed in the Philadelphia Catholic League for 24 years from 1920-1944. On Feb. 9, 1920, Stan Rzcyek scored 40 points in a game against Dover. To date, this is the highest single game point total for one player in a game at Salesianum.

The team earned three unofficial state titles, in 1923, 1927, and 1956. From 1988 to 2012, the team was coached by Mike Gallagher ’69, himself a football and basketball player during his time at Salesianum. In an interview with, Coach Gallagher said, “My goal was to have them understand that we were going to challenge you and test you to your physical limits, so you can be prepared for the things that life is going to throw at you, both on and off the court.”

Currently, the team is coached by Taylor 
Trevisan (Varsity Head Coach), Brandon Baffone, Dan Edgar and Fr. Chris Beretta (Asst. Coaches), William McGowan (JV Head Coach), Mark Janney (Varsity Asst.), Daniel Stroud (JV Asst.) and Jamie Igo (Fr. Head Coach). 

Ice Hockey

Flyers Cup Championship 2017, 2018
In December 2000, Salesianum School became the third high school in the state to add ice hockeyas a varsity sport.  The team has been a member of the Inter-County Scholastic Hockey League since 2005.  The Patriot Ice Center in Newark, DE is the team's home rink. In the last 7 years the JV team has won 4 Championships in the ICSHL with the Varsity team taking 2nd place 2016 in the NJ/DE Flyers Cup and winning the Championship in 2017 and 2018. 

In December 2000, Salesianum School became the third high school in the state of Delaware to add ice hockey as a varsity sport. 
Salesianum played its first hockey game on Jan. 8, 2001 against Bishop Ireton High School from Virginia.  The team has been a member of the Inter-County Scholastic Hockey League since 2005. Varsity and JV Head Coach is Brian LeBlanc 

Winter Track

State Championships: 1983, 1992, 1996, 1999, 2003, 2005-06, 2012, 2016, 2018

The Salesianum winter track program began in 1927, with partial records up to 1935.
 From 1960 to 1966, the team won five out of the six independent league championships. Famous alumni include Vic Zwolak, who ran in the 1964 Olympics. Zwolak honors include induction into the Delaware Sports Hall of Fame (1976), Delaware’s Athlete of the Year (1964), Delaware's Co-Athlete of the Year (1963) and NCAA Cross Country Champion (1963 and 1964) and Eric Eckstrand ‘00. The team is led by Head Coach Joe Gioffre '99.


State Championships: 1973-76, 1981, 1983-84, 1988-93, 1995-97, 1999-2004, 2006-15, 2017-2019.
The nationally-ranked Salesianum swim team was founded in 1955-56 under the direction of Mr. Rocco Carzo.

The team had a 1-0 record and placed second in the unofficial state tournament that year. From 1966-67 to the present, the swim team has attained a total of 25 state titles.
The Salesianum swim team has won eight consecutive swimming and diving state championships, and have won 13 of the last 14 titles under Head Coach Chip Hannig.  He is assisted by Frank Mieczkowski and Cody Quig (Varsity Assts.).

All-Americans have included:

  • Tyler Dougherty `14, (Gettysburg) - Three-time DIII All-American.
  • Matt Stasiunas ‘13 (Penn State) - Four-time All-American, two-time Scholastic All-American. 
  • Clifton Gordon ’11 (UNC) - Five-time NISCA High School All-American and USA Swimming Scholastic All-American.
  • Alex Hampel ’11 (Washington & Lee, Indiana University of Pennsylvania) – Two-time All-American relay team member, Academic All-American.
  • Wade Marsh ‘09 (Washington & Lee, Duke) – DIII All-American
  • Josh Hyman ’08 (Delaware) – All American, 2008 State Swimmer of the Year
  • Rob Kuderka ‘05 (Penn State) – All American Diver
  • Rory Connell ’04 (Auburn) - 18-time NISCA All-American and 2004 Junior National Team selection. Four-time NISCA/SPEEDO State High School Swimmer of the Year. Placed 36th in the 200 free at the 2004 Olympic Trials and 37th in the 200 IM.
  • Dane Grenda ’04 (Michigan) - NCAA All-American, two-time NCAA All-America honorable mention.
  • Dave Montgomery ‘03 (University of Pittsburgh) – All American
  • Tyler Grenda ‘02 (Notre Dame) – All-American, three-time Big East Academic All-Star. 
  • Dan Klee ’01 (University of Tampa) – All American Honorable Mention
  • Joe Mack ’01 (Yale) – All American Honorable Mention


State Championship: 1984 

The Salesianum wrestling program began as a club sport in 1966-67 under the direction or Mr. Wayne Allen.
In 1967, it became a sanctioned varsity sport by DSSAA under the direction of Mr. James Freebery. Mr. John Rusnak coached the Salesianum wrestling team for a span of 31 years, from 1969-2000. His record for that period was 248 wins, 123 losses and four ties. Mr. Rusnak was inducted into the Delaware State Wrestling Association Hall of Fame in April of 2001. 

Today, the team is coached by Cameron Davis (Varsity Head Coach), Steve Lex (Varsity Asst.), David Willard (JV Head Coach), Ben Thomas (JV Asst.) and Nate Phillips (Freshman Head Coach). The team statistician is Donna Silvestri-
Fecondo. In 2012, a new wrestling room was added as part of the Anthony N. Fusco Sr. Athletic Center.